Mens Noticeboard

Showing 37 - 42 of 90 Items (Page 7 of 15)

August Monthly Medal - 5th August 2017

Tom Troup was the overall winner of the Monthly Medal with a fine score of 73 (net 66) and he was presented with the trophy by the Vice Captain Simon Barber.

In Division 1 Dan Fetherstone came second (net 68). Nigel Pugh, Gary Johnstone, Tony Cooper and Mike Easton all had net 69's.

The qualifiers from Division 1 for the medal final were  Tom and Nigel.

In Division 2 the best score was Steve Bell's net 68 with Jonathan Roberts in second place on count back -both are qualifiers.


Harold Humphrey's Medal-July 29th

Congratulations to Gary Olsen who was the winner of the Harold Humphrey's Medal with a score of net 65 (Gross 85). Matthew Hodgson came in second with a net 66 (Gross 81).

Vice-Presidents' Challenge Bowl

In 1914, the Vice-Presidents clubbed together to buy the VP's Challenge Bowl.  Its the oldest trophy in the Club, so old it pre-dates the change of name from Fulshaw GC to Alderley Edge GC, and this year was the 100th time the trophy has been played for.  Tradition now has it that the VPs still collectively buy a watch as the prize.  It was a pleasure to see David Heggs again, who'd made the long trip from the East Midlands to attend.

The VPs themselves play for a bottle of whisky, with serious prestige to the winner who this year was Paul Penney.  Tradition was maintained on the night when the collective VPs succeeded in draining the bottle of whisky.

Jan Cichocki and Jim Allen finished in joint 2nd place with nett 65s, but the overall winner of the trophy and the watch this year with 89-25=64 was Bill Bennett.  Many congratulations to Bill.

Mike Easton takes the Captain's Prize

After the first round of the Captain's Prize, the field was tightly bunched behind the leader, Andy Wells, who'd shot a 75-10=65 to lead by one shot from Garry Olsen on 66 and six players on 67, creating one of the most open competitions for several years.  Andy took the prize for the best score on the first day.

It was Mike Easton who emerged from the pack on 67 to win the 2017 Captain's Prize, with two consistently good scores of 67+66=133, from a 14 handicap.  Many congratulations to Mike for two great rounds.

Philip Mason, who was playing head-to-head in the same group as Mike, just missed out by one shot to take second place with two rounds of 67 for 134.  As the chasing pack faded, Matt Spiller came through to take third place with 70+68=138 on count-back.

Ben Gaunt took the prize for the best score on the 2nd day, with an 83-17=66 on countback from Jan Cichocki.

Thanks to all who took part and made it such an excellent weekend.

Captain's Day Photographs

Alliance Foursomes

Alderley Edge managed to beat Davenport in the Manchester & District Golf Alliance Foursomes on Friday night by 5 matches to 2.  We're now in the last 16 of the competition, only 2 matches away from the Finals day.  Our next opponents won't be known for a couple of weeks.  Many thanks to Paul Penney for organising the team, his combinations are clearly inspired.  Well played team!

Showing 37 - 42 of 90 Items (Page 7 of 15)