Mens Noticeboard

Showing 79 - 84 of 90 Items (Page 14 of 15)

AEGC beat Macclesfield GC in annual match

It was our turn to host this annual fixture and, after a great match, Alderley Edge were victors against Macclesfield GC, winning by 4.5 to 2.5. Thanks to Brian Foden and Rob for organising this annual match. Thoroughly enjoyed by all, on a well prepared course. Thanks Les & Team.


April Monthly Medal - Saturday 16th April

Another good field contested the Monthly Medal with former captain Rick Ford winning the trophy with a great nett score of 65 in difficult playing conditions.

The best division one scores were 

Rick Ford (76 less 11) - 65 (qualifier)

Steve Lomas ((77-11) -66 (qualifier)

Barry Lewis (81-14) -67

Gavin Ely (78-11) -67

Division two best scores

Steve Bennett (94-24) -70 (qualifier)

Mike Easton (88-18) -70 (qualifier)

James Allen (85-15) 



Simister Cup final and subsidiary stableford - Saturday 9th April

A good field entered on Saturday with very pleasant conditions all morning . The late afternoon groups got rather wet but the re-run of the competition was completed.

The winner of the Simister Cup was Harrison Peck with 36 points with Paul Ellis second on 35 points after a card play off with Mike Davies and Luke Foden.

The subsidiary stableford saw Ed Clapham romp home with 41 points followed by Paul Penney on 37 points and, again on card play off, the Captain on 36 points. Others on 36 points were Rick Ford and Bernie Cummings.

Ed saw his handicap of 23 reduced to 18 - well done Ed, an excellent performance.

SIMISTER CUP 6TH ROUND -26th March 2016

The conditions were tough on  Saturday and deteriorated during the day.

The winner with a very good score was Luke Foden (38 points). Luke qualifies for the final which will be held (weather permitting !) on 9th April.

Mike Easton was the runner up (37 points) - qualifier.

Third Andy Wells (37 points) -already qualified

Fourth Tom Toup (35 points )-qualifier

Fifth Bill Bennett (35 poiints) already qualified 

Sixth Bob Anderson (34 points) qualifier 


Texas Scamble - Saturday 19th March

19 teams entered the early season Texas Scramble.

The course has dried out a lot since the problems experienced during the winter and the teams were able to enjoy a bit of run on the ball.

The winners with 57.6 net were Jan Cichocki, Gary Johnstone, Tony Cooper and Mike Davies.

Second with 58.0 net were Dave Lee, Bill Fisher, Chris Hills and Craig Aston.

3rd and 4th both came in with 59.0 net.

Simon Edwards reported that he was not playing well but still managed a 'hole in one' on the 13th. Congratulations Simon.

Gents' Opening Sides - Saturday 12th March

There was a great turnout for the Gents' Annual Opening Sides Event on Saturday 12th March to start the season.

The President & Captain came to support the early morning session of the Opening Sides. Whatever the Captain said worked, or was it in the coffee, as it helped his team to a 4-0 victory in the opening matches (but could the Captain’s team maintain their lead in the afternoon?)

Our Honorary Member Jack Unsworth, in his 99th year, started the afternoon session of Opening Sides. Many members stated it was like seeing a "rose between two thorns".

The Captain’s Team were victorious on the day 13 to 6, but more importantly, the Spirit of the Event came through and the Club is in some excellent hands. Thanks to Les and his team for preparing the course, thanks as ever to Duncan and his staff and, most importantly, Gents for contributing to the Junior raffle and prizes.

Great day by all and many thanks to Jack and all the golfers.

Have a great season.

from Mr Captain and Mr President.


Showing 79 - 84 of 90 Items (Page 14 of 15)