Ladies Noticeboard

Showing 1 - 6 of 7 Items (Page 1 of 2)

Ladies AGM, Tuesday 26th November 2019

The 2019 Ladies AGM was well attended and it was a pleasure for all the Officers and Lady committee members to see so many present. One of the highlights of the evening was the presentation of this season's trophies and the retiring Lady Captain Julie Ricketts announced the winners and presented the trophies.

Jo Pratt received the Dobson Challenge Cup for the Singles Knockout, runner up Gwyn Holt. Jusine Jackson and Barbara Evans received the Foursomes Knockout Goblets, runners up Helen Edwards and Jean Walker. The Fairway Trophy for the 3 best net scores was won by Karen Pennington, runner up Jo McGregor. EWGA Medal by Olwen Davies, runner up Julie Ricketts. Medal Final Salver winner Tracy Smith and the Brenda Hendry Par Competition, Sue Freeman.

The retiring Lady Captain, Julie and Lady President, Marion Hall gave their farewell speeches summing up their year as Lady Captain and Lady President respectively.. A vote of thanks was given by Honorary Member Margaret Sumner to the retiring committee acknowledging the hard work these members have put in during their time on the committee.

The Officers and committee for2020 were then elected. Officers are Sue Freeman, Lady Captain, Alison Roberts, Lady President and Karen Pennington, Lady Vice Captain.

The Ladies committee for 2020 is Jean Walker, Secretary, Claire Roberts, Treasurer, Olwen Davies, Handicap Secretary, Fiona Anderson, Match Secretary, Valerie Hornsby, Assistant Match Secretary, Marion Hall, Competition Secretary, Janette Smith, Assistant Competition Secretary.

As incoming Lady Captain I am delighted we have such a strong committee with many members with indepth golfing knowledge as well as newer members prepared to learn the ropes.

Sue Freeman


Betty's 50 years Celebration plus Tuesdays competition

The competition today was an AmAm played in 3's with the 2 best scores counting, playing the back 9 holes.

After playing the ladies all had lunch in the lounge where we were joined by Betty, her daughter and many ladies who played golf with Betty over the years.

Lady Captain explained that today was to celebrate Betty being a member of Alderley for 50 years after an amazing golfing career playing for England on several occassions and also representing Cheshire. She was quite renowned for her excellent putting and still has her putter at home. Jean Walker had been delving into the archives and found several pictures of Betty and the team winning the Bell Cup in 1975 and 1982, there were also numerous newspaper articles recording Betty's successes.

LC presented Betty with a beautiful bouquet of flowers and treated all the ladies to a piece of chocolate cake and tea.

The winners of todays competition was also announced which was won with an great score of 41 points by Jean Walker, Barbara Moss and Sue Kendrick

Mixed Final Fling

This was due to be played on Sunday afternoon but because of the weather members got together for a drink and presentation.

Overall 21 teams took part in the Barbara Auimes competition this summer. The winners were Helen Fitch and Simon Barber with Lady and Mr President runners up.

Looking forward to even more teams taking part next season.



5th of November Competition

The Ladies now only play 9 holes during the winter. Today was a draw and shotgun start and the format a Texas Scramble.

The ladies played the back 9 holes in order to try out the 3 new proposed tees on the 11th, 16th and 18th. There will be a vote regarding these at the AGM.

The winning team was Gwyn Holt, Carol Wallace, Celia Berent and Alison Roberts

Closing Sides

Each year we finish the season with a fun game, this time a Greensomes matchplay.

Lady Captain and Lady President draw 2 teams and there is a shotgun start.

Lady President's team won by a narrow margin, 4.5 matches to 3.5.

After the meal Lady President was presented with the bronze golfer and Lady Captain with a wooden spoon. The winning team were all given a cyclamen plant each.

Other presentations included winner of the Eclectic - Tracy Smith, Birdie Tree ( cat 2&3 ) Olwen Davies, cat 4&5 Jo Pratt and Karen Pennington, 9 Hole Competition - Angela Atkinson, Subsidiary Stableford Winner - Alison Roberts. All the board competitions are presented at the AGM

Turkey Trot

This year it was decided to make the Turkey Trot an invitation and open competition.

Fortunately the course had dried up and 9 teams of 4 ladies played 14 holes.

There was a very welcome halfway house manned by lady members with a delicious array of homemade cakes, tea and coffee.

There were 3 away teams with the winning team from Tytherington scoring 56 points. Only one prize was awarded due to on 3 teams entering.

Of the 6 home teams, the winners with 57 points were Jo McGregor, Jo Pratt, Sarah Dwyer and Jaki Pariser.

In second place with 55 points was LC, Julie Ricketts, Olwen Davies, Sue Martlew and Maureen Nicholson.


Showing 1 - 6 of 7 Items (Page 1 of 2)